Lost Betty Davis Sessions with Miles Davis and Herbie Hancock Unearthed.

Betty Davis

Light in the Attic Records has once again unearthed rare tracks from the archives of Betty Davis.

The collection, titled The Columbia Years 1968-1969, features sessions Betty Davis recorded with then-husband Miles Davis at Columbia Record’s 52nd Street Studios in New York on May 14 and 20, 1969. The tracks were produced by Davis and Teo Macero, with contributions from Herbie Hancock and many more.

In addition to the original pieces, Davis’ covers of songs by Creedence Clearwater Revival (“Born on the Bayou”) and Cream are also included.

Check out a quick preview, and tracklisting below. You can purchase the collection HERE.

The Columbia Years 1968-1969:

1. Hangin’ Out
2. Politician Man
3. Down Home Girl (Take 4)
4. Born on the Bayou
5. I’m Ready, Willing & Able (Take 1)
6. I’m Ready, Willing & Able (Take 9)
7. It’s My Life (Take 8)
8. Live, Love, Learn (Take 12)
9. My Soul Is Tired (Take 9)

Film. The Legendary Betty Davis Gets the Biopic Treatment with ‘Nasty Gal.’

Legendary funk singer, songwriter, and artist Betty Davis has teamed up with UK-based indie film company Native Voice Films by signing exclusive exclusive life rights with the organization. Davis, who is also known as the former wife of Jazz legend Miles Davis, was both a controversial and inspirational figure during her most active years in the 70’s.